Skip to content

Chronology of convention & Membership of I.L.O.

Chronology of Convention of I.L.O. with recommendation-

Conventions and recommendations are made up by representatives of governments, employers and workers. They are adopted at the ILO’s annual International Labour Conference.

Chronology of convention & Membership of I.L.O.


The ILO’s Governing Body has identified eight conventions as “fundamental”, covering subjects that are considered as fundamental principles and rights at work: freedom of association and the effective recognition of the right to collective bargaining; the elimination of all forms of forced or compulsory labour, the effective abolition of child labour; and the elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation. These principles also covered in the I.L.O.‘s Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work (1998).

The eight fundamental Conventions are:

  1. Freedom of Association and Protection of the Right to Organize Convention, 1948 (No. 87).
  2. Right to Organize and Collective Bargaining Convention, 1949 (No. 98).
  3. Forced Labour Convention, 1930 (No. 29)
  4. Abolition of Forced Labour Convention, 1957 (No. 105).
  5. Minimum Age Convention, 1973 (No. 138).
  6. Worst Forms of Child Labour Convention, 1999 (No. 182).
  7. Equal Remuneration Convention, 1951 (No. 100).
  8. Discrimination (Employment and Occupation) Convention, 1958 (No. 111).

Governance Chronology of Convention :-

The ILO’s Governing Body has also designated another four conventions as “priority” instruments, thereby encouraging member states to ratify them because of their importance for the functioning of the international labour standards.

The four governance Conventions are:

  1. Labour Inspection Convention, 1947 (No. 81).
  2. Employment Policy Convention, 1964 (No. 122).
  3. Labour Inspection (Agriculture) Convention, 1969 (No. 129).
  4. Tripartite Consultation (International Labour Standards) Convention, 1976 (No. 144)

Membership of I.L.O.

As of April 2016, the ILO has 187 state members. 186 of the 193 member states of the United Nations plus the Cook Islands are members of the ILO. The UN member states which are not members of the ILO are Andorra, Bhutan, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, Nauru, and North Korea.

The ILO constitution permits any member of the UN to become a member of the ILO. To gain membership, a nation must inform the Director-General that it accepts all the obligations of the ILO constitution. Other states can be admitted by a two-thirds vote of all delegates, including a two-thirds vote of government delegates, at any ILO General Conference. The Cook Islands, a non-UN state, joined in June 2015.

Members of the ILO under the League of Nations automatically became members when the organization’s new constitution came into effect after World War II.